Patting my own back

For the past 8 postpartum weeks, I’ve sat here gnashing my teeth about how much other mommy bloggers are able to save by couponing for groceries and household items.  Really, you have NO IDEA how much they can get for so little money LEGALLY.  Well, today I decided I was up for getting back in the game, so off I went to Kroger with coupons and sale paper in hand.  My husband rolled his eyes when I told him that I was posting this, but if you “coupon,” please join in my little celebration because no one else is feeling the love here.

There’s a giveaway going on right now to win an additional $30 Kroger gift card, so have at it, all my fellow couponers, and see what you can get for $30 or less. Apparently it’s protocol to post a picture of your catch…whether it’s to encourage others or rub their noses in it, I can’t be sure, but who am I to buck the system?

DSCN4872

Full price, this is about $73 worth of products that after coupons and in-store deals came to $25.  Then I paid for $16 of it with what was left of a gift card I received on a previous coupon deal so total out-of-pocket was just under $9.

And that is what I did with my Saturday night.  Sigh.

6 responses

  1. Hello! I’m seraching for a name or e-mail address here and can’t seem to find it so I thought I’d e-mail you with the fun, good news! First, of all, I did a quick read of some or your posts before contacting you – hysterical! It’s great to see someone with such a great sense of humor about life. Congratulations on the new baby too. Hopefully, since yours is older, you’re less sleep deprived than I am!

    Anyway, I was contacting you to let you know I’m up at the crack of dawn, because my kids won’t sleep and decided to pull a winner for my giveaway – you won! If you’d e-mail me with your address (ingoodcents (at) gmail (dot) com), I’ll have the sponsors mail it out to you this week. And, if you use it and want to post another photo of your “catch” you can do so on my blog, LOL, but it’s not required!

    Congratulations. Also, because I have to give a winner to my sponsors quickly, please get back with me soon, so they won’t force me to pick a new winner!

  2. way to go amy! (sad that your welcome back to the post maternity world is a shopping trip to kroger:)–the life of a mom ). i am totally impressed.
    and tell brian not to make fun of the hand that buys him cheap food.

    it was great to see you guys. thanks for hanging out with us. asher is adorable. we always love spending time with you all.

  3. Awesome job Amy, see you to can be good at this!! How did you get a $16 gift card from a previous deal? I must have missed that one! I’d love to help you spend your loot, that would be fun. I don’t have the backing here either Josh, like Brian, is glad I am saving money but doesn’t get excited about how little I can spend as I do. It’s a little depressing that this is my life now :)

  4. Great job and congrats on winning the gift card! I saw your blog as the winner announced on the ingoodcents website. I still have not been able to get a very good handle on saving a ton of money at Krogers. I applaud you.

  5. I would be very, very jealous right now (of both the $9 trip and the winnings – unbelievable!) except for one thing….. I feel that I have had a small part in turning you on to coupons. So instead of jealousy, I feel pride. :-) Well done.

  6. LOVE it!!! Even though I have not found that good of a deal (yet) I have succeeded in turning my husband into a coupon cutting, deal making, rebate collecting fool. We bought 6 boxes of cereal, 2 boxes of rice krispie treats, 2 boxes of nutrigrain bars, and 2 boxes of poptarts for $10 and got $9 back with in-store credit. Bill got to spend the $9 on HIMSELF and treats for HIM and the KIDS for our plane trip to Myrtle Beach…..where we proceeded to buy ONE box of cereal for $5.99. It hurt…real bad…

    But, Bill was so impressed with my transaction, he went to Walgreens BY HIMSELF the next week to get free pens and other various school supplies! :0
    Will miss you so much this week….. think of me as I torture my mom with prone knee extension, glut sets, and short arc quads. If things get really exciting, we may try some CRABS!

Leave a Reply

